A view of the Met Opera stage from the Family Circle section

Daytime Access

During the opera season, certain areas of the Metropolitan Opera House are open to the public, free of charge, on weekday mornings from 10 AM to 2 PM, and on Sundays from Noon to 4 PM. Visitors to the Met can walk up the famous grand staircase, admire the iconic crystal chandeliers, or visit our exhibitions downstairs. Photography is permitted in all public areas of the house, so it’s a great way for tourists or locals to capture a classic New York shot. A large television screen will give visitors a live look at what’s happening on the Met stage, where rehearsals take place every morning for the more than 200 opera performances the company presents each season.

Daytime access is not available on the following dates: 

  • Monday, September 23, 2019
  • Monday, September 30, 2019
  • Thursday, October 3, 2019
  • Friday, October 4, 2019
  • Sunday, October 6, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 8, 2019
  • Sunday, October 13, 2019
  • Sunday, October 20, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 22, 2019
  • Friday, October 25, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 5, 2019
  • Friday, November 8, 2019
  • Sunday, November 10, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • Sunday, November 17, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 26, 2019
  • Thursday, November 28, 2019
  • Sunday, December 8, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Friday, December 13, 2019
  • Sunday, December 15, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 24, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2109
  • Thursday, December 26, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 31, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Tuesday, January 7, 2020
  • Sunday, January 12, 2020
  • Sunday, January 19, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020
  • Monday, February 3, 2020
  • Sunday, February 9, 2020
  • Monday, February 10, 2020
  • Thursday, February 13, 2020
  • Sunday, February 16, 2020
  • Sunday, February 23, 2020
  • Monday, February 24, 2020
  • Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Sunday, March 1, 2020
  • Monday, March 2, 2020
  • Monday, March 9, 2020
  • Friday, March 13, 2020
  • Monday, March 23, 2020
  • Sunday, March 29, 2020
  • Sunday, April 5, 2020
  • Tuesday, April 7., 2020
  • Friday, April 16, 2020
  • Sunday, April 19, 2020
  • Friday, April 24, 2020
  • Sunday, April 26, 2020
  • Friday, April 30, 2020
  • Sunday, May 3, 2020