Daytime Access

Thank you for visiting the Metropolitan Opera during the 2017-18 season. 

During the opera season, certain areas of the Metropolitan Opera House are open to the public, free of charge, on weekday mornings from 10 am to 2 pm, and on Sundays from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm. Visitors to the Met can walk up the famous grand staircase, admire the iconic crystal chandeliers, or visit our exhibitions downstairs. Photography is permitted in all public areas of the house, so it’s a great way for tourists or locals to capture a classic New York shot. A large television screen will give visitors a live look at what’s happening on the Met stage, where rehearsals take place every morning for the more than 200 opera performances the company presents each season.

There will be no access on these days:
Tuesday, January 23
Friday, February 2
Sunday, February 11
Friday, February 16
Monday, February 26
Monday, March 12
Thursday, March 15
Sunday, March 18
Monday, March 19
Monday, March 26
Sunday, April 8
Monday, April 9
Thursday, April 12
Friday, April 20
Friday, April 27
Sunday, April 29
Sunday, May 6

On most Sundays during the opera season, visitors can have brunch at the Grand Tier Restaurant, which is open from 11:00 am to 2:30 pm featuring performances by rising Met stars. For information visit Dining at the Met.