Met Opera on Demand Catalog

A Midsummer Night's Dream thumbnail image

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Dec. 21, 1996)

Composer: Benjamin Britten
Librettist: Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears, after Shakespeare

Atherton; McNair, Gustafson, Bunnell, Kowalski, Streit, Gilfry, Rose

Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus

Approximate running time: 2 hrs. 30 min.

Shakespeare’s enchanting tale is set to some of Benjamin Britten’s most atmospheric music, with a libretto taken entirely from the text of the play. Countertenor Jochen Kowalski is Oberon, King of the Fairies, and Sylvia McNair sings his queen, Tytania. The ensemble cast also includes Nick Stahl as Puck, Nancy Gustafson as Helena, Jane Bunnell as Hermia, Kurt Streit as Lysander, and Rodney Gilfrey as Demetrius.