Met Opera on Demand Catalog

The Rake's Progress thumbnail image

The Rake's Progress (Apr. 19, 2003)

Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Librettist: W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman

Levine; Upshaw, Blythe, Groves, Ramey

Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus

Approximate running time: 2 hrs. 29 min.

James Levine leads a great cast in Stravinsky’s powerful tale of a young man’s fall. Paul Groves is Tom Rakewell, who leaves a life in the country and the faithful Anne Trulove (Dawn Upshaw) for the temptations of London—seduced by the sinister Nick Shadow (Samuel Ramey), better known as the devil. Stephanie Blythe stars as Baba the Turk.